Friends of the Library

The Friends of the York County Library is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) volunteer organization formed in 1975 to provide advocacy and financial support for the York County, SC, Library. The group also operates Friends Books on Main, a book store at 206 East Main Street in Rock Hill, SC.

Through funds raised via book sales, memberships, and other activities, the Friends support a variety of library functions:

  • Summer Learning Challenge, promoting literacy for all ages
  • Bucks for Books campaign, adding new books to library shelves
  • Non-budgeted library special projects

Friends of the Library Annual Meeting


Stephen Turner, keynote speaker at the Friends Annual Meeting held on January 28, gave an entertaining and enlightening talk about the Rock Hill Printing and Finishing Co., the subject of his new book:  The Bleachery: Rock Hill’s Greatest Business Enterprise.  Copies of The Bleachery are available for purchase at Friends Books on Main.  


Become a Friend

Annual membership starts at just $15 for individuals and $10 for students! As a Friend, you'll receive:

  • Advance notice of special events
  • A 15% discount on purchases at Friends Books on Main
  • Invitation to the annual Volunteer Recognition Event

To join the Friends, fill out a membership form and return it to any York County Library location or mail it to: Friends of the York County Library; P.O. Box 10032; Rock Hill, SC 29731.

Support the Friends

Volunteer: Friends members generously volunteer to provide assistance:

  • Helping at Books on Main
  • Sorting and boxing donated books and materials
  • Assisting with online sales
  • Working at branch sales

To volunteer, you must be a Friends member. Members are only contacted to help if they have indicated an interest in volunteering.

Donate: Friends of the Library Book Sales are made possible by tax-deductible donations. Books, CDs, audiobooks, and DVDs are accepted at all York County Library locations. The Friends cannot accept encyclopedia sets, magazines, Reader's Digest condensed books, old textbooks, or materials in poor condition. For more about donating, see Support Your Library.

About the Friends

Mission: The purpose of Friends of the York County Library shall be to maintain an association of persons interested in libraries; to focus public attention on the York County Library; to stimulate the use of the library's resources and services; to receive and encourage gifts, endowments, and bequests to the York County Library; to support and cooperate with the library in developing library services and facilities for the community; to raise money for approved library projects; to lend legislative support where needed; and to support the freedom to read as expressed in the American Library Association Bill of Rights.

Board of Directors: Please consider joining our Board of Directors. You may also view our Constitution and By-Laws.

  • Diane Ingersoll, President
  • Joy Price, Vice President
  • Chad Lynch, Treasurer
  • Judy Gritzmacher, Secretary
  • Jim Beamguard
  • Cynthia Bradford
  • Malissa Church
  • Jack Hutchins
  • Susan Lyle
  • Connie Newland
  • Terry Plumb

Volunteer of the Year: Each year, the Friends present a volunteer with the Joann Woods McMaster Volunteer of the Year Award. This award, named in honor of the organization's co-founder and first president, recognizes extraordinary dedication to the Friends on behalf of the York County Library.

If you would like to nominate a Friends volunteer for this award, please fill out the nomination form and return it to any Friends of the Library board member.

Previous Award Winners: Cindy Marcelais, 2023; Terry Plumb, 2022; Julie and Jim Beamguard, 2021; Lois Stimax, 2020; Debora and Jack Hutchins, 2019; DeeAnna Brooks, 2018; Mac Lyle (posthumous) 2017; David Needham, 2016; Faye Wyatt, 2015; Martha Ferguson, 2014; Nancy Coleman, 2013; Connie Newland, 2012; Janie Matson, 2011; Jane Kasemersky, 2010; Deborah Wiegand, 2009; Joan King, 2008; Michael Simmons, 2007; Marianne O'Neill, 2006; Virginia and Jinilyn Anderson, 2005.

Faithful Friend Award: Beginning in 2022, the Faithful Friend Award recognizes a Friend who has provided years of volunteer service with remarkable dedication. Award Winners: Jerry Padget, 2023; Claudia Ray, 2022. 

Books for Sale on eBay

Find more on: eBay